Some tips on tricks and commands... - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 12-01-2008, 08:34 PM Thread Starter

Some tips on tricks and commands...

Hi all just wanted to ask a few tips concerning some obedience and tricks I've been trying to teach my 5 month old boy so far.

Firstly this is my first time working with a large breed and the first time in 15 years (and yes my old gal, sabi the 15 year old pom is stick fierce and furious ^_^) so I'm unsure as to where my puppy should be in terms of his ability to handle commands.

My three main questions are:
1. I've been trying to get him to do pee/poo and speak on command, everytime he barks/pees/poos I go "Good speak!, Good pee, and Good Poop" and praise him. Yet after a few week of this he kind of just ignores me or looks at me...and if I use "Pee, speak" he just ignores me. I'm not sure if I'm doing this correctly or not
2. Initially I did not allow him to jump up on me or anyone at all...at the advice of my friend I decided to teach him "hug" in order to control the behavior (he still did it when he got really excited) and it's kinda backfired...he jumps on people when they have treats or if he gets worked up.
3. Lunging at the end of his leash...I've been doing loose leash training with him (walking around with a 15 foot lead and ignoring him, or when on a regular walk doing the "turn around" when he pulls") and for the most part he does well...however lately he will get riled up about something and just lunge! He does this so forcefully, one day he pretty much just "snapped" into the air and fell on side! What's going on with this behavior? How do I correct it?

Sorry for the long post, but I'm just looking for some good advice. I have been taking him to obedience class and he does amazing during class, but afterwards...

~Lee
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 12-01-2008, 08:59 PM
Knighted Member

Re: Some tips on tricks and commands...