walking next to a bike not in front of it - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 10-03-2008, 09:54 PM Thread Starter

walking next to a bike not in front of it

I just started riding a bike with my dog,well him running next to it. I don't go fast just a good trot for him and maybe a half mile thats it. He really likes it,he whines at the door and looks at the bike. Anyway if I go the same route he is fine BUT if I change and turn he runs in front. Any way to correct this? I have pinch on him but if I correct he looks at me and stops,not good when your still moving.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 10-04-2008, 12:15 AM
Master Member

Re: walking next to a bike not in front of it

I ride about 5 miles a day with my dogs. It's great exercise, training and bonding. Your dog should know how to heel when you walk in order to heel while you ride. I also do not let my dogs get excited at all when riding. They are not allowed to sniff at the ground (track) or stare at any distractions. We start only when they are calm at my side and if they get excited (which is at the beginning of the bike ride) I will correct them and stop until they are calm again. Repetition, consistency and calmness is the key. Once they get going, they seem to get into a trance and enjoy the workout. Sometimes they remind me of a focused jogger.

Inga Vom Holtzberg-Black GSD
Chaco-White Bull Terrier
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 10-06-2008, 03:35 PM

I agree with Dano, must know HEEL! I use a prong collar too but my dog doesn't stop while joging if I have to correct for barking at another dog.

Also you may want to use the SPRINGER that attaches to the back support on the bike and keep the dog behind your leg out of the way of peddling.

Check out the link. http://www.springerusa.com/

Training isn't expensive.... IT'S PRICELESS!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 10-06-2008, 04:42 PM
Elite Member