German Shepherds Forum banner

General tips on getting pup to trust other people?

3K views 22 replies 11 participants last post by  GSDchoice 
#1 · (Edited)
Hey so, got this 3-year-old adopted GSD Willow (most of you probably know her story by now). She's really aloof with strangers, which I guess is not super unusual for a GSD. But I've had to take her with me to work on weekends for the last 4 weekends--I'm a wildlife biologist and operate a busy big game check station during hunting season, where I have 1-5 student volunteers helping me, not to mention hundreds of hunters coming by.

Willow has been pretty good at the check station overall; has not shown any signs of aggression, but definitely barks or slinks away when she's not comfortable with people. She's just really weird though--she'll be fine with one of my volunteers petting her one second, then slinks away from them the next. I do think she's getting better and better the more she's exposed to new people, but don't know if she'll ever really "come round" to accepting strangers.

The really weird thing that I can't really explain happened for the first time this weekend. I was taking a break and tossing balls/sticks around for Willow in the field behind the check station, and she was having a grand old time. One of my volunteers came over (who had been there all day and been friendly off and on with Willow), and I gave her the ball to throw. The first time she threw it, Willow acted a bit uncertain but still went and got it, and returned the ball to me (kinda...I had to take it from her, which is normal). I handed it back to the volunteer and this time Willow immediately went bonkers, barking and barking at her, then refusing to go get the ball after it was thrown.

This happened twice, with two different people on different days.