Dog has no motivation - German Shepherd Dog Forums
 9Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 06-24-2019, 08:06 PM Thread Starter
Crowned Member

Dog has no motivation

I am trying to help someone train a Shih Tzu puppy long distance that has almost no drive at all. She isnít food or toy motivated, but I saw a video of her following the owner, with a lot of praise. I was told that extreme praise is not a good idea, and that praise as a reward should be calm and positive but not squealy and over the top because the dog will eventually stop responding. I suggested they only train with food when the puppy is hungry. I also said to try a flirt pole, but wasnít able to explain how to use it in a way they understood.. Iím not close enough for hands on training. How can a dog not be motivated by anything? They want to train her but donít know how or where and I have no experience with tiny dogs. Can anyone help?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old 06-24-2019, 09:53 PM

Train it to do what?Little lap dog puppies are easier to work with if you get down on the floor with them.They can follow your hands and read your facial expressions more easily.

Terri

Samson Blk/Slvr GSD. RN
Misty Husky Mix
Z-Z Terrier/potato mix
Devo Yorkie Mix at the bridge
Dakota Wht GSD at the bridge
post #3 of 16 (permalink) Old 06-24-2019, 10:24 PM Thread Starter
Crowned Member

Iím not sure. Maybe sit, walk on a leash, lie down, place. Itís a very tiny one, not going to be over 10 lbs.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 16 (permalink) Old 06-24-2019, 11:06 PM
Crowned Member