Tips for teaching my dog to track scents? - German Shepherd Dog Forums
 4Likes
  • 1 Post By Deb
  • 1 Post By cloudpump
  • 2 Post By Hineni7

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 10-03-2016, 10:14 PM Thread Starter
Master Member

Tips for teaching my dog to track scents?

Hello there, everyone!

Vesper is about 18 months old, and I thought it would be fun for us to learn how to track scents! I have never done it before, and neither has Vesper. I have been reading about tracking online, but was wondering if anyone who had done it before could give me some advice? A good place to start? We went out and got a 26 ft lead tonight, and I would really like to start working on it tomorrow. Let me know what advice you guys have!

Lexi

Picture of Vesper for attention.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	vesper.jpg
Views:	162
Size:	141.8 KB
ID:	387345  

~Vesper~March 28, 2015
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 10-04-2016, 11:21 AM
Deb
Knighted Member

Beautiful dog! I can't help you with the scenting. I plan to try it with Enya when she gets older and bought some books, but I also plan to ask here when we get to that stage.
lexiz likes this.
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 10-04-2016, 12:01 PM
Elite Member

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 10-05-2016, 12:03 PM
Elite Member

Are looking to track for IPO, AKC and just for sport, OR, are you looking for trailing which is more 'real world' type scent work...?

Sport is more obedience and crushed vegetation = tracking

Trailing is more scent discrimination (following a given odor/person) and covers all surfaces, allows for scent movement etc

Both are great fun and excellent exercise for you and the dog. The difference being in what you focus on and how adherent you become to following footsteps vs where scent actually is...
Jax08 and ausdland like this.
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 10-15-2016, 09:41 PM