charges full speed into sliding door - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-26-2013, 11:51 AM Thread Starter

charges full speed into sliding door

need some help here, got a 11mo old guy here, very protective. if he sees someone/animal outside our sliding door, he charges full force at the door, jumping, barking, etc.. and no matter what i say or do, his ears are turned off and he doesnt listen lol. usually when he barks at the front door i just say "OUT" and he stops, but for the sliding door, nothing works!

its only a matter of time before he actually crashes thru the glass door and hurts himself, so i need some advice on how to stop him from charging and going crazy! ive tried saying No, Out, Come and even walked over there to try and stop him..but hes quick and just goes around me lol
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-26-2013, 12:01 PM

i am no expert, but learned solutions generally are more effective before the problem occurs. i practice every few days just training on a "down and stay" for reasons like this. i have also started working on a spot for my pup to go to when directed. when housebreaking, she was taught to sit, ring a bell on the door, and then wait for me. all of these steps teaches a dog to not lunge at the door.

when the mailman comes in the driveway, ups, fedex .... i have leashed her and taken her out to greet them. i have asked all of them to please pet her and call her by name. she is directed to sit when being touched.

none of that is perfect, but what it has done is take the "edge" off when seeing something out there. it lowers the anxiety level a tad.

now when it's just a squirrel, bird, or rabbit and she gets excited ... i make her sit very quickly but i let her go. she has learned they just aren't worth chasing. they are faster than she is.
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-26-2013, 12:25 PM