Leash Dilemma..Yikes - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 32 (permalink) Old 04-09-2012, 07:56 PM Thread Starter

Leash Dilemma..Yikes

Yeah, I know that I am not experienced with gsd's and blah blah blah.
Here goes:
I step on Thors front feet when were walking. This is because he pulls away from me and wants to be ahead. I shorten the leash so much that I am practically just walking him by his collar and he doesnt let up. SO his front foot is coming in my path and I step right on his foot.
He lunges on his leash and pulls and drags me.
I am trying to walk him a few steps and make him sit...after he sits for 10 seconds without moving, he gets a bacon.
Well....its not enough. Most times I have to sit on his butt to get him to sit and he doesnt seem to care to much about the treats cause he is so excited about everything else.
What am I doing wrong? Do I need to change my technique??
HELP
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 32 (permalink) Old 04-09-2012, 08:23 PM
Elite Member

You need to take a huge step back and re-evaluate what you are doing.
How often is he walked?
What sort of distractions do you see on your walks?
How much exercise is he getting?
How old is he?
What sort of collar is he on?
How much training does he get per day?

I could go on and on..but a general day to day schedule of how you interact with him would help greatly.

Without knowing anything about his life, I would say start with NILF and get signed up at some puppy/dog obedience classes. Its fun and will help your bond and get him to be more interested in you.

-Cassie
Shenzi the GSD

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Scruffy "To live in the hearts we leave behind is not to die.-Thomas Campbell"

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Zira “To the well-organized mind, death is but the next great adventure.” -J.K Rowling