Rescued older GSD now need help - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 06-10-2011, 12:31 PM Thread Starter

Rescued older GSD now need help

Hello. I'm new to this thread. I rescued a 7 year female GSD from an elderly home where the owners passed away leaving the GSD in the home alone for 2 months. The neighbors came by and fed her, but she was protective of her owners home. After several others tried to adopt her and save her (not able to bond with her), I came by to interview with her (with my daughters) and we seemed to make a connection. I was selected and the next day I brought her home (minus the girls as she was not used to children and I wanted them to be safe). Since we have been together (1 month now), she has been extremely obsessed with my every move. Whining and crying, pacing and panting, and generally distressed unless I'm lying in bed. While I'm sleeping, she checks on me several times throughout the night and I have to speak to her to tell her I'm okay. She likes the girls, but when they are with me (I have 50/50 custody with my ex), she barks at them if they come near my room, or if they call out to me, if they move towards the area I am in. She doesn't growl or act aggressively, just barking and looking at me whining. I don't know how to help her. I hurt for her wondering what happened in her home. I know the woman who owned her did not socialize her or take her outside her home other than vet visits. Any suggestions to help her be at peace will be greatly appreciated. She is very sweet and I believe she can turn around, but I don't understand how to help her at this time. I can't hire a trainer (single mom), but I am willing to put in some time for training myself.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old 06-10-2011, 12:35 PM
Knighted Member

I believe this is called resource guarding. You'll get some great advice here on how to work through it.