Hello and could use some help! (barking issues and unfriendly w/new dogs) - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 06-06-2011, 02:00 AM Thread Starter

Hello and could use some help! (barking issues and unfriendly w/new dogs)

Well, I should start by introducing my GSD and myself! My name is Matt, I am a college student. I live in Houston and have had my Shepherd (mix) for almost 2 years now. It's complicated, had him for a year, then my ex and I split up and he stayed with her for a couple months (stuck outside on an apartment balcony ) After that he was given to a family with a child but they didn't have the time for him ad were going to take him to a shelter and I just couldn't let that happen so I had to take him back! His name is Cosmo and he is a German Shepherd mix. His mother was 100% GSD but the father was undetermined. He was the last of the breed, hints why he is so small but he's a great friend to have around, just needs a little bit of work! He will be 2 years on July 26th. I call him a mgsd (Mini German Shepherd Dog )

Here's the things that I could use some help on!

Barking - Now I don't really know how to approach this because I do like the fact that he barks, it's just he barks a lot and uncontrollably. If he hears anything close near the door, he goes haywire! If I walk by people outside, and especially if he see's another dog/cat/squirrel or really anything moving haha

Being social - Any type of introduction with another dog (especially male dogs) he starts to be real aggressive. Growls, barks, puts his lips up and shows his teeth, really just looks mean and I have to hold him back while he goes insane! With people I can get him to calm down but at first he is just really protective.