Should I start over?? - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 03-16-2011, 05:47 AM Thread Starter

Should I start over??

Hello guys! This is my 2nd post on these forums! Well I have my 2 month old sience 1 week, and after the third day I started clicker training him (sit, and down). Everything was going well intel I started training too much! It seems like I lost all his motivation ! I feel like I ruined everything. I would let him sit (or down) before he leaves the house, before he eats, and ect. He only have food drive no toy drive. I guess I should first start working on his toy drive first? I have been following this website How to Create a Motivating Toy ,but he does not even care if I'm jumping around playing by myself. Then when he bites me I try giving him a toy in place, but he refuses them all. Today I will trying to ignore him, and keep on playing by myself. It seems like the more I try to get him to play, the more he ignores me. He goes away and find something better to play with (cat, piece of paper, and ect.). I wonder if it his age, or if I'm just that borring. Any good ideas?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 03-16-2011, 10:22 AM

Hello! First congrats on your new puppy! From what a recall from my first week with my girl, she spent most of that time just exploring her new home and sleeping. I didn't even try to engage her. I would give him more time to adjust to his surroundings before the real serious training starts. The substituting a toy for your flesh will work eventually, took me a while. I'm sure that someone much more knowledgable will help you out here. One more thing, I do recall reading that you must not let a new puppy think that he is the center of the universe, thus creating an alpha dog. Best of luck to you
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 03-16-2011, 12:09 PM
The Administrator from the Great White North, eh?