surprise german shepherd - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 20 (permalink) Old 02-26-2011, 03:33 AM Thread Starter

surprise german shepherd

Well for the past month or so i have been going to shelters looking for a medium sized dog to adopt. Now i have 2 smaller dogs, 1 chihuahua mix and the other is a mix of 2 small dog breeds. Now this week i went to a shelter near my area and saw a gsd that was pretty young , but in danger of being euthanized if it was not adopted. I instantly fell for this gal and commited to adopt her because i could not stand the idea of her not living past 6 months. So she should be arriving home in a few days, and i now realize that my decision was rash but i do not regret it. I am completely new to large dog breeds, and my smaller dogs are not really well trained. I want to bring paige up right and train her along with socializing her with my smaller dogs. My budget isnt that big atm so i would need to take small steps but i want to do everything i can correctly. She is 6 months, and she is friendly towards people and some dogs from what the people at the shelter tell me. I have spent a good amount of time which has made this decision one i cant change. I;m looking for training advice, how i should socialize her with my other dogs, potty training, teaching her where to sleep since i have bought her a nice bed or huge pillow type bed. I know im basically asking to get spoon fed this information, but im so new to this that looking through all the threads is a bit over whelming.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 20 (permalink) Old 02-26-2011, 04:29 AM
Crowned Member