how to teach your dog to recall - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 10-06-2010, 01:59 PM Thread Starter

how to teach your dog to recall

Hi I have been working with Schatzi for a few months now on her recall, and its been going pretty good. i recently moved to a very rural area, which is great she loves it but her recall seems to have taken a few steps in the wrong direction. i dont know if its all the distractions associated with being in a rural area like the deer, squirrels, or any other random animal. so im perplexed on how to continue work on her recall but teach her to ingore the distractions and focus on the task at hand i know its possible i just dont know how to go about doing it. thanks

Schatzi, GSD, born 10/30/09
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 10-06-2010, 02:17 PM
Knighted Member

I am anxious to hear the suggestions. How old is Schatzi?

Renee'

Jake 2/12/10 CGC TDI
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 10-06-2010, 02:44 PM
Elite Member

I love Schatzi's name. Yes...I'm tryiing to work on recall as well and its not going so well....so I'm also curious to hear the suggestions.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 13 (permalink) Old 10-06-2010, 02:49 PM Thread Starter

thanks! Schatzi is going to be a year on 10/30, everyone thinks her name is after Marge Schott's, the owner of the cincinnati reds, dog Schatzi. but its actually German for Sweetheart which i think is really cute

post #5 of 13 (permalink) Old 10-06-2010, 02:53 PM
Elite Member

Very good choice of a name.
post #6 of 13 (permalink) Old 10-07-2010, 09:44 PM
Master Member

Long line her . Buy a 30ft training lead and when its time to recall use it !

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

GSD Karma (f) born 29.5.2010 passed 22.12.11
GSD Jirra (f) born 27.12.11

post #7 of 13 (permalink) Old 10-08-2010, 02:16 PM
Master Member