Restore/build Confidence in Rescued Dog. - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 05-14-2010, 11:18 AM Thread Starter

Restore/build Confidence in Rescued Dog.

A guy who rescue dogs and give them for adoption came to me, because my girl behave so nicely he thought I was a professional trainer which I am not, I just train my dogs.
However he came to me to ask me if I would be interested in adopting a pure breed GSD, he said have problems with the dog because is so scared to the extreme with everything, I went to see the dog and the poor thing was shaking and petrified, I thought she was a new arrival, but the guy explain to me she actually has been for a full month and she has not changed a bit.
I would love to help the dog, but positive training is not my thing, and I am afraid that any other method could be worst for the poor thing, but so far nobody seems to be interested in this poor doggie.
Is it possible for a non professional trainer, mean home pet trainer, to build/teach confidence in a extremely shy dog?
If so, how to do it?
Any Video recommendation?

Thanks!

Frank
Savannah's Dad
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 05-15-2010, 02:58 AM
Elite Member

I dont have any videos for you I'm sorry. However yes a home trainer CAN build confidence in an extremely shy dog. Its really not toooo hard but it is work, time and patience. Some of the essential things first is to gain the dogs trust and confidence. If he has had her a month and shes still cowering in the corner then he's not doing a lot of things he needs to (sorry but it's true) I used to foster and while some may not agree it's the best way this is what has worked for me.