Crate training / separation anxiety - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-04-2010, 03:25 PM Thread Starter

Crate training / separation anxiety

Hi all, My husband and I adopted a 2 year old GSD two months ago. The lady who gave her to us had six bird dogs and really didn't understand the herding instincts of GSD. What she described as aggression toward her other dogs, we believe was simply herding instincts and rough play. She brought Sheba to our home, spent 15 minutes and left her without a backward glance. Sheba became very upset, but was really happy when my children gat home from school. She adjusted quickly to our family. Anyway, Sheba is a VELCRO dog and suffers separation anxiety. When we got her, my husband had been laidoff and I am a fulltime student taking mostly internet classes. We tried crating her twice and both times she pulled the crate door in (wire crate) until she could get out. My husband has been back to work for a month and the weather has been cool enough that she has been able to go with me everywhere. That's changing - its too warm to leave her in the car. Saturday I took my children to an egg hunt and crated Sheba. I reinforced the door with caribiner clips. When we got home an hour later, she was still in what was left of the crate. She had pulled the door in as far as the clips would allow, destroyed the heavy-gauge plastic liner tray and pulled the bottom wire up into a hump. Any advice on getting her used to a crate would be greatly appreciated!

Obxmom

Sheba 2 yr old GSD
Hefty, Schipperke - loved and missed
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-04-2010, 04:06 PM
Elite Member