Door Dashing - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-12-2010, 12:10 AM Thread Starter
Knighted Member

Door Dashing

Koda keeps trying to follow me out the door when I leave the house, it's getting ridiculous. I've resorted to putting up a baby gate and separating him from myself and the door to the garage, which is the door I most often leave from. I left today for a bit and when I came back, my parents (Yep, I have a college degree and I'm living at home again, awesome) informed me that apparently he accidentally got out while I was gone and took off down the street. Now, I don't know what that was about, if he was in search of me (I'm the only one he religiously follows around the house) or what, but that's not cool!

I'm working on "stay" with him as a preventative method, so he won't do anymore door dashing, and he seems to be slowly getting the hang of it, but he's still so adamant about trying to get out the door with me when I leave. He seems to be too excited to apply the "stay" that I'm teaching him. Apparently he barely listened to my Mother when she called him to come back (Although he listens to me just fine), which says I need to work on "come" as well, that's next, I'd sooner like to prevent the situation of him getting out, than depend on the fact that I can trust my dog will return to me if he does get loose.

I'm going to continue to work on "stay", but can anyone make any other suggestions? Maybe on how to get his attention when he's the most excited, which is by the door, he just won't listen to me then and tries to push past me...
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-12-2010, 02:34 AM
No Stinkin' Leashes Moderator

I don't use "stay" at doorways because I want not rushing the door to be default behavior. Plus, if you tell him to stay and he does, and then you leave, someone else inside the house has to release him so he doesn't get in the habit of self-releasing from a stay.