How do I teach forced fetch (e-collar training)? - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 23 (permalink) Old 12-28-2009, 10:26 AM Thread Starter

How do I teach forced fetch (e-collar training)?

First, let me start off by saying that I am not interested in a lecture about using an e-collar as a training tool or how some other method would be better for my dog. Please do not ask me why I choose to use an e-collar instead of another method.....I will not answer you and it will only derail my thread. Call me cruel, closeminded, stubborn....I don't care. I am only looking for help from people who use e-collars for training.
I have seen all the threads (bashing) about e-collars & because of the mentality around here I have been reluctant to ask for help. So, if you don't have any e-collar training advice, please don't participate.......thanks.

First, a little history on my experience.......
I have been using a dogtra e-collar for training for about 9 months. I am not sure of the model, but the levels are 0 - 127. Lobo has a working level of 7. The highest I have ever had to go was 17 when he was extremely distracted.
I bought the e-collar through a local trainer & payed for 12 private sessions with them.
My trainer has left the area, so I don't have him to talk to anymore about teaching new commands.
Typically, we have not used the e-collar when first teaching a new command. The new command is taught using praise as a reward until Lobo has an understanding of the command and then the e-collar is used to reinforce the command & make him "sharper".

Now for the question......
I want to teach Lobo to retrieve items that I throw on land or in the water (floating) & bring them back to me or carry them around in his mouth until I tell him to drop it.
I want to be able to tell him to go get something and have him bring it back to me (newspaper, soda, remote, etc...).
I would appreciate any help/advice on how to go about this.....

Thanks!
Sponsored Links