Book for beginners? - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 12-08-2009, 01:29 PM Thread Starter
Elite Member

Book for beginners?

I know next to nothing about training. I would like a recommendation on a book or two to read before I get my pup. I need to know what to teach and when. I need some detailed instructions on basics. The only "training" I have ever done is to teach my little poodle-pom to sit, speak, beg, roll over, fetch, shake, come, stay, and go... he adores me and I just gave him treats to get him to do those commands. But I know I want to be way more consistent and teach a lot more with a GSD. I am picking up from this board that there are standard commands that I never heard of (like "leave it") and I need a resource that will give me these basics.

I am interested in clicker training also.

Anyway, any books you'd recommend for a complete beginner?

Shawn
Mom to five kids and
"Saber" Jette vom Wildhaus BN RN CAX JJ-N HIC CGC
Kira vom Snoozhaus ZZZ CGC!!!

Saber's Blog:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 12-08-2009, 01:38 PM

Re: Book for beginners?

very good first book. covers many many topics. don't let the title throw you. about $11 in paperback.
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 12-08-2009, 02:05 PM

Here are 2 basic texts on tracking, the old and the new, Glenn Johnson's The Tracking Dog, and The American Dog Rescue Association Search and Rescue Dogs--Training the K-9 Hero. The second book is mostly concerned with air scenting and the lessons learned from 9/11. Good luck, khawk

khawk
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 12-08-2009, 02:09 PM
No Stinkin' Leashes Moderator