how do i train my gsd to search - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 10-13-2009, 08:17 PM Thread Starter

how do i train my gsd to search

i have a 6 month old gsd her name is dixie what im wanting to do is teach her to search things or people by scent i have been using my son as the gunie pig by me holding her with me petting her and keeping her attention and having him run and hide but what happens is she will walk around a lil but if she cant see him she will come back to me like oh well i cant find him i want to train her to use her nose not just her eyes im not in to al lthe competitions i got her for a companion and friend for me and my son im a volunteer firefighter and though maby she could help out if the need ever arised
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 10-13-2009, 08:27 PM
Crowned Member

Re: how do i train my gsd to search

basically you need to start off with runaways like you are doing now. make her want to go find your son.
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 10-13-2009, 08:42 PM
Moderator who has gone to the dogs

Instead of petting her you want to hold her collar and "rev her up" by letting her see your son running off. Have your son wave his arms, calling her and get her all excited (with her favorite toy is a bonus) as soon as he ducks to hide he should be quiet and you let her go excitedly telling her to search, go find or whatever you want to use. When she gets into him have him praise her and then play with her with her favorite toy.

Not all dogs have the drive/interest to search but this method should work if she has any inkling for the task.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Lakota, Chimo, Tika, Rayne, Kanuck, Jethro and Keyzah

My Angels forever in my heart and watching over us:
Phoenix 9/07
Kaylee Cheyenne 5/09
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 10-13-2009, 08:42 PM