Puppy School? - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 09-29-2009, 09:27 PM Thread Starter

Puppy School?

OK is everyone ready for a total newbie question? Sorry in advance but here it goes, my pup is almost 4 months old now and i have began some basic training with him(sit, down, up, drop) but would like to enroll him in a basic puppy school but am not sure where to go. I know that places like petsmart have puppy classes but I'm just not sure. He learns extremely fast but is a big box store like petsmart a reliable place for this or should I find a private trainer? Just a footnote but I've talked to the trainer I would be seeing at petsmart a couple of times and she has 2 germans herself both of which are very well behaved. I'm just not sure. Thanks in advance for the input, it's much appreciated.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 09-29-2009, 09:38 PM
Crowned Member

Re: Puppy School?

I would check with Cassidys Mom. She is in your area and her descriptions of the puppy classes she did with Halo sounded neat.
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 09-29-2009, 09:42 PM
Crowned Member

Definitely check with CassidysMom, she might have a suggestion for a training group. Petsmart/Petco classes are only as good as the trainer. The best trainer I ever worked with trained at a Petco for a short while, after the AKC club I used to belong to fell apart. She was shepherd people too.

-Jenn

Venus of Crooked Creek 1/26/13
Otto von Hena-C 05/23/08
Morgan Donnermond 08/04/01 to 9/28/12 Long Live the Queen!

I have duct tape and I am not afraid to use it.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 09-29-2009, 09:47 PM
Knighted Member