off leash training - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 05-28-2009, 08:55 PM Thread Starter

off leash training

I have seen several pics of dogs going on wonderful hikes w/o a leash. I was wondering how you go about training off leash. I would like my dog to be able to play/be in our unfenced back yard (under supervision of course) or even be able to hike with her off leash.

She is very prey aware and at the moment if she is focused on something, will not shift her attention to me, so at this point I couldn't trust her off leash.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 05-28-2009, 09:06 PM Thread Starter

Re: off leash training

by the way, she is 16 weeks old.
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 05-28-2009, 09:19 PM
Elite Member

I am not an expert on the training part, I'm sure you'll get some good advice on that, but as far as a place to do it, we used a fenced tennis court where we could contain the dog but train off leash.

Clover - GSD 9 yr old Rescue
R.I.P. Spats, Sophie, Emmie, Pooh Bear, Rogue, Max and Patton

Remember, if someone has a problem with you.........it is in fact their problem.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 13 (permalink) Old 05-28-2009, 09:35 PM
Crowned Member

You know, I know this is awful but we just kind of tried it... we bought treats along and had her due a few commands before we let her off so she knew we had them and would be rewarded if she came back when called. Her recall is pretty good as it is, but we wanted to basically ensure that she would come back.