Getting my dog to come, or stop. - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 01-12-2009, 02:44 PM Thread Starter

Getting my dog to come, or stop.

I'm trying to train my 7 mo old, Lily, to come when she is called. This was one of the very first commands that I started practicing, basically since she has been 8 weeks old. She will obey sometimes, but not all of the time. If I'm training her with treats, then she will come, because she knows she's going to get something. Other times, she'll just stare at me, and sometimes come.

Lily has gotten away from me twice while I've had her on the leash. Both times I've chased her yelling,"Lily come!" or simply just yelling her name. But, she just kept running, then eventually stoped. I want to be able to call her and have her come to me EVERY time, everywhere. Be it in the house, out in the park, or out for a walk. I live off of a busy street, and the last thing I want is her darting out into the street and getting killed. I love her dearly and I don't know what I'd do if that were to happen. Is it possible to train her like this, and if so, how to I go about training her correctly. It seems like I have been doing a not so good job at this.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 01-12-2009, 02:53 PM
Banned

Re: Getting my dog to come, or stop.

get a trainer amd keep her leashed.
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 01-12-2009, 03:04 PM
Crowned Member

you need to start at the very beginning of dog obedience training. the first thing you should teach is there name, by that I meen you say it, they stop what ever they are doing and look directly at you. Find a local trainer and let them know what your goals are, avoid Petsmart and other cookie pushers

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 01-13-2009, 11:30 AM Thread Starter