Has anyone had any success w/ IBD and holistic vet - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 20 (permalink) Old 02-07-2008, 11:38 AM Thread Starter

Has anyone had any success w/ IBD and holistic vet

I am taking Akbar for the first time to a Holistic vet and was wondering how optimistic I should be. Akbar has been diagnosed with IBD and is currently on prednisone. Right now it is under control, but I was hoping to get him off of the prednisone. I hate the side effects the prednisone has.

I am also worried about the "healing crisis". I am new to this and have no idea how common that is.

Thanks all.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 20 (permalink) Old 02-07-2008, 12:59 PM
Crowned Member

Re: Has anyone had any success w/ IBD and holistic vet

A lot of dogs need to be on the pred at first to get things back under control and then can get off of it with very careful management of their diet. Sometimes this means a prescription diet and for some dogs, a home prepared diet can do wonders.

Elaine and the herd
post #3 of 20 (permalink) Old 02-07-2008, 01:22 PM
Crowned Member

Re: Has anyone had any success w/ IBD and holistic

Basu had IBD and I treated him holistically with diet and supplements. It took a while (my learning curve was steep!) but I got it under control. I did cook for him for years using Pitcairn's book because until I got the IBD under control he could not eat kibble.

The supplement that helped the most was this one http://www.onlynaturalpet.com/produc...c-7da31ccfcdae

combined with digestive enzymes. That Gi Support stuff was like a miracle!

I also had good luck with Phytomucil powder from Animals Apawthecary and Proper Nutrition Seacure.

You can check out a bunch of holistic stuff (with reviews) for IBD here:
http://search.onlynaturalpet.com/sea...terms=IBD&mf=0

Ruth & the 4 Legged Rescue Gang

Rafi the malaroo

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.