Massage Tips. - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 09-28-2014, 12:59 PM Thread Starter
Master Member

Massage Tips.

Took the dogs for a run today and Bob hasn't quite figured out that he can't run like the beagles, so he over did it a bit. Now that we are home he is limping a bit noticeably sore.

Does anyone have massage tips that may help? Or even something that I can give him to ease the aching a bit?

Thanks guys

Candice

Candice
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 09-28-2014, 01:43 PM
Elite Member

Well, I'm no massage expert, but I usually give a good rub on the shoulder muscles, and all the muscles in the back legs, usually a nice rub along the spine on each side starting from the shoulders to the hips, and maybe down the legs. My dog seems to like it. You can give an aspirin too (only aspirin, NOT ibuprofen or acetaminophen), if the pain is bad, but it can be hard on their stomachs and I don't like to give it unless it's needed.
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 09-28-2014, 03:51 PM
Elite Member

When dealing with a dog hat has a sore leg/muscle always remember to target the opposite end/side of the dog as well. Say a front paw/leg is acting up and the dog is unwilling to put weight on said leg. That extra weight has to be offset by either the other front leg or the rear legs. Massage the crap outta the good legs and get the dog nice and relaxed, THEN start a gentle session with the offending area. It will help soothe the overworked areas and put the dog into a state that will allow you to see what hurts when you manipulate the hurt area. Watch the breathing and ears, any change and it's time to back off.