Anybody skip the puppy vaccine series? If so, what do I need to have on hand in case - German Shepherd Dog Forums
 1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 56 (permalink) Old 05-23-2013, 07:15 PM Thread Starter

Anybody skip the puppy vaccine series? If so, what do I need to have on hand in case

My pup has had one round of shots from the breeder. Distemper, parvo and adenovirus. I am personally against vaccines for many reasons I won't go into here but I have limited knowledge on puppy vaccines. I believe most of what I've read concerns adult dogs.

Has anybody only done one round of vaccines with their pup? I honestly am worried about vaccinosis occurring from over vaccination. Though I HATE this fear motive instilled into people about "if you don't vaccinate, she'll get sick and die!" Which I don't believe but is like to hear some experiences and get some preemptive naturals on hand, or even cures.

Sent from Petguide.com Free App
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 56 (permalink) Old 05-23-2013, 07:19 PM
Crowned Member

Parvo is no joke.
Neither are the other illnesses for which dogs are vaccinated.
Vaccinate your dog, and titer after she acquires immunity if you don't wish to over vaccinate, but honestly, not doing so is playing Russian roulette with your dog's health.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Norden von Narnia (Hans) DOB 1-15-12
post #3 of 56 (permalink) Old 05-23-2013, 07:40 PM
Zombie Queen Moderator

No, I don't think even Dr Dodds recommends that.

One vaccination will do nothing for them; you need two given about 3 weeks apart.
The one given by the breeder is probably a wash due to maternal antibodies.