Just starting herding... helpful tips? - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-06-2009, 11:09 PM Thread Starter

Just starting herding... helpful tips?

Hi all, I'm just getting started in herding. We have done the Herding Instinct Test with the results being "she's a natural..." We have done 3 sessions with the sheep, under instruction, now and I am really loving this. Lana is too. She does so well! I'm the one that needs help though. I would appreciate any tips you can provide to help me get the hang of this.

Thanks,
Donovan and Lana

Krylos
SG Echo vom Wildhaus - SchH3/IPO3 (14x), USCA GSD Nats (2x), USCA WDC (2x)
Alpha vom Haus Herru
VP Ansgar vom Haus Herru
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-07-2009, 03:05 PM
Knighted Member

Re: Just starting herding... helpful tips?

I think it is just practice and time with the sheep to learn how to read them (the sheep). Learning how to place the dog so that he/she prevents the sheep from going where you don't want them to go and then moving the dog to get the sheep to move somewhere else. Also, learning how your body language effects the dog and where the dog goes just takes time. It took me ages to feel like I was starting to "get it." I also found going to trials and talking to the more advanced handlers - listening to them critique other runs helped.

I do hear it quite a bit - dog is great, handler...well, needs work (and I still say this!!!)

Paisley and TJ
Leyna and Levi, RIP
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-09-2009, 11:05 PM Thread Starter

Hehe... yeah, that is pretty much what our instructor tells me... "the dog isn't the problem..."

Krylos
Alpha vom Haus Herru
VP Ansgar vom Haus Herru
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-10-2009, 12:38 AM
Knighted Member