Service dog too breeds - German Shepherd Dog Forums
 15Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 48 (permalink) Old 09-27-2019, 01:21 AM Thread Starter
Banned

This is very far into the future, but my surgeon is encouraging me to look into a service dog. He believes I will need one in approximately 4-5yrs. My disks continue to deteriorate, and have started further down my spin. I will likely be wheelchair bound, and will need a dog to perform tasks for me.

So the hard part is what breeds I should be researching? I have a strong dislike of labs and Golden’s, and don’t think I could get into either of the breeds. I don’t want to add another GSD, but have been doing some research on Shiloh Shepherds (I know, not a real breed). I’ve also looked into Rottweilers as I have extensive experience with them. But I’m not sure it would be a good mix in my home. Lyka will likely have passed on to a pain free world by then, so it would put Crios at 6-7 years old, and the pups at 4-5 years old. What breeds do those with service dogs have? What are the drawbacks? The positive side of the breed as a service animal?

I’ll need a dog to open doors, grab stuff for me (quickly losing all feeling in both feet and hands due to disks crushing nerves, have very loose grasp, and often drop things). I’d also use him in therapy as an assistant when I am doing physical therapy so I don’t have an atrophy happen. If I could get one that sweeps and mops too, I’d spend all the money in the world for that 😂.

But seriously, does anyone have pro’s and con’s in breeds relating to service work???

Last edited by Jchrest; 09-27-2019 at 02:20 AM. Reason: Title should have read “service dog breeds.”
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 48 (permalink) Old 09-27-2019, 05:15 AM
Elite Member

Does it have to be a service dog? What about a capuchin monkey,