GSD SD questions - German Shepherd Dog Forums
 2Likes
  • 1 Post By konathegsd
  • 1 Post By car2ner

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 01-29-2019, 03:02 PM Thread Starter

GSD SD questions

Hello everyone.

I was looking to get some information on using a GSD as a service dog. For some background, I am a veteran with some mental and physical impairments. None are super debilitating, but there are some tasks that I have troubles with. Many people have thrown out the idea of me getting a service dog, so I wanted to get some information about it. I know there are non profits out there that help veterans and others receive/train SDs, but I haven't noticed any that train GSDs or let you choose your dog. I know that there are other breeds better suited for SD work, but my heart is fairly set on a GSD. I grew up with an Akita and Shepherd mix, so I definitely biased towards larger dogs. I was wondering if anyone had information or experience using a GSD as a SD, as well as some known breeders/trainers that they would recommend? (I live in UT for reference) I'd like the dogs main tasks to be deep pressure therapy as well as medication retrieval. I know public access is a big thing to watch out for especially with GSDs as they tend to mirror their handler's emotional state, but I would be primarily be with the dog at home. I am fortunate that my conditions are not as debilitating as others, but I feel that having and SD would still greatly improve my quality of life. Any info or recommendations would be appreciated.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 3 (permalink) Old 01-29-2019, 04:39 PM
Master Member