Anyone adopt a "failed" guide/seeing eye dog? - German Shepherd Dog Forums
 17Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 18 (permalink) Old 03-21-2018, 05:02 PM Thread Starter

Anyone adopt a "failed" guide/seeing eye dog?

The percentage The Seeing Eye provides is only 65% of seeing eye dogs in training pass all requirements, but the rest go into other services or live on as family pets.

I'm curious if anyone in the forum has personal experience or knows how any of those dogs are doing post career change.

Thanks in advance!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 18 (permalink) Old 03-21-2018, 06:42 PM
Elite Member

Would love a FIDELCO dog...Very expensive thought.
EyeDogtor likes this.

Linc Remington vom Sequoyah Haus, "Remi"- D.O.B 2/3/14

Pedigree:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
post #3 of 18 (permalink) Old 03-21-2018, 07:26 PM

I’m a guide dog mobility instructor at a comparative school..... not entirely sure what you’re asking? but I’m available to discuss.

TILDEN: Male: Blk/Red LHGSD: DOB: 12/24/06 65lbs of Love
KEYSTONE: Male: Sable: DOB: 2/11/13 55lbs of Go!!!!!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 18 (permalink) Old 03-21-2018, 10:11 PM
Crowned Member

A friend is a service dog trainer and has kept a few who washed, but they are not German Shepherds. Her dogs make very good pets. They are low key, mellow dogs.
EyeDogtor likes this.
post #5 of 18 (permalink) Old 03-22-2018, 09:37 AM Thread Starter

@eddie1976
I looked up FIDELCO adoption fees, and wow. TSE dogs are only $1000.

@Fodder
I wanted to hear some first- or second-hand knowledge of how the dogs do in their new positions. I see a few veterans at the VA with some type of service dog--some not as well behaved as others. I can PM soon if that's a better way to communicate.

@LuvShepherds
Good to know! I know my fiance likes a mellow dog, but I think we could fit in a high energy one easily.