Hi, I'm David! - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 11-27-2013, 04:04 AM Thread Starter

Hi, I'm David!

Hello Forum,

My name is David, I'm an undergraduate student in New Jersey: I currently commute, but I usually dorm. Anyway, I'm very interested in acquiring a service dog. I have spastic cerebral palsy, which renders me a moderate quadriplegic. I can ambulate (walk) but outside of home, I generally use a mobility scooter to navigate. I can step out of the scooter to move around, but my mobility is limited. Having a mobility service dog would grant me much more freedom and would make solo adventures much safer.

My family got a German Shepherd 2 years and 2 months ago, Rambo. He's great, although he's developed some separation anxiety issues (too excited to see family members, me included) since summer's end because I am, ironically, the person who exercises him most and school has constricted my time since I can't bring him along with me for exercise. He's also intermittently "claims" me on walks, more recently. He's docile at home. I'm working on correcting the problem behaviors (advice is very welcome); my experience with Rambo has generally been very positive. I'll probably put up his papers later on.

Because I am looking to acquire a service GSD, I was wondering about kennels/breeders that produce strong, stable, reliable dogs. Does anyone have any feedback on Vom Eichenluft?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 11-27-2013, 05:03 AM
Crowned Member

Hello and welcome, David. Your question would be seen by the right people qualified to answer it if you posted it here:

Guide, Therapy & Service Dogs - German Shepherd Dog Forums

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Norden von Narnia (Hans) DOB 1-15-12

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.