Looking for a Service Dog - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 08-13-2013, 10:30 AM Thread Starter

Looking for a Service Dog

Hello,

I don't want to make this post too long, so I will be very brief.

I am an active duty soldier, stationed at Ft. Knox, KY. I am from SC, where I plan on returning too, once my medical retirement is finished.

I am 22 years old, and last year was hit and run by a drunk driver while I was on emergency leave. I suffered minor injuries (for the severity of the accident). I had compression fractures in my mid and lower back. Obviously, at this point the Army doesn't want me anymore because of the injury, so I am being medically retired...eventually. lol

I have only deployed once to Afghanistan for a year, but I was also diagnosed and have been fighting PTSD since then.

I never knew these dogs existed, until one of the providers I see here at Ft. Knox suggested I look up an organization and submit a packet. My only issue with that is that the wait time is over 18 months I believe, and that I cannot have my puppy trained, or pick a breed that they will provide for me.

So I was wondering if anyone on here was involved with or knows anyone I could talk to about setting up something for a German Shepherd service dog. My puppy is 12 weeks old, and I would love for him to have a buddy to play with or for him to even be trained.

In any case, if this fails my sole purpose for buying my puppy was to start a positive in my life and to whip me back in shape, so I won't be offended if the answer is "no". Which right now as a puppy I think he's causing me more stress than I would normally have! Haha.

Thanks!

Matt
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 08-13-2013, 12:55 PM

First - thank you for your service!Sorry to hear you are having issues as a result , just wanted to express my appreciation for what you do and the risks you have taken.