Service Dog in Training - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 01-20-2012, 10:15 PM Thread Starter

Service Dog in Training

Hello, My name is Jennifer Huynh. I am a disabled veteran with PTSD (home-bound) with limited transportation (travel mostly by bus). I was wondering if anyone can give me some advice of how I can train my own service dog. I currently have a pure-bred German Shepherd puppy, Nyssa is 9 weeks old. I have bought the book called "51 Puppy Tricks" by Kyra Sundance. I am thinking of buying her next book "101 Dog Tricks" but there are some training that I can't seem to find in books.
Here are the commands that I would need to train my puppy:
PSD Assistance for Veterans with PTSD
Symptom(s):
Assistive Behaviors
Assistance Classification
reclusiveness:
canine accompanies veteran outside the home

physical task
night terrors:
dog wakes veteran (optional: turn on light)

physical task
startle reaction:
canine-defined personal space perimeter

physical task
dissociative fugue:
'take me home' command

physical task
hypervigilance:
search a room for the presence of humans

physical task
neurochemical imbalance:
Team walks to stimulate endorphin production

physical task
dissociative flashback:
tactile stimulation mediates sensory re-integration and orientation to time/place

physical task
startle response:
alert to presence of others (i.e., 'pop a corner' or 'watch my back’)

work--leveraging a dog's natural senses
dissociative spell:
canine interrupts

work--mind/body
emotional regulation:
canine as therapeutic distraction

work--mind/body
sensory overload:
canine as alternate focus

work--mind/body
social withdrawal:
canine-facilitated interpersonal interaction

work--community integration
lack of insight:
canine alert to emotional escalation

work-- leveraging a dog's natural senses (CBT)
hypervigilance:
canine environmental threat assessment

work-- leveraging a dog's natural senses (CBT)