Getting a GSD puppy soon, will be training her as a Service dog. . . HELP!!! - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 10-22-2011, 07:19 PM Thread Starter

Getting a GSD puppy soon, will be training her as a Service dog. . . HELP!!!

Hello everyone, I am a disabled veteran with PTSD and this has caused be to become home-bound unless accompanied by someone that I can trust which is family or my fiance. I ask my psych doctor if it would help me if I got a service dog, she said yes and wrote a letter about recommending me that it would be very help to get a service dog. So I have been in contact with a German Shepherd breeder and she is willing to give me a puppy when one is available.

Now once I get the puppy I know that I would have to train her the basics which should be pretty easy and also I plan on getting her CGC certified. I have been thinking about getting the "51 Puppy Tricks" and "101 Dog Tricks" by Kyra Sundance for starters but I also want to know how I can teach my puppy how to search my home before I enter and to watch my back as I'm using the ATM or some thing like that sense. Please help me...
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 10-22-2011, 07:37 PM

First thank you for your service and sacrifices. A GS puppy sounds like a great idea, I know my boys have helped me through some tough times and picked me up when I was down. The unconditional love they express is great to experience and come home to. Training is not hard just be patient and use positive reinforcement. Expose the pup to as many new situations, people and other dogs as possible. Good luck and enjoy the new pup.
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 10-22-2011, 07:42 PM