New to the site - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 27 (permalink) Old 08-29-2011, 09:49 PM Thread Starter

New to the site

Hello all,

I am new here. I am a disabled veteran and was recently suggested that I might benefit from a PTSD / Psychological Service Dog. I have decided on a Shepherd but was wondering what if any difference there is on a Service Dog use between a German Shepherd, King German Shepherd, and a Shiloh Shepherd.

Also is there a website or something to learn how to do Public Access Training if I decide to train the Dog myself.

Thanks

EdwardMH
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 27 (permalink) Old 08-29-2011, 09:55 PM
Knighted Member

What I would think between those, would be the size difference. The Shiloh and Kings are significantly larger, I feel if you want a SD, you'll want a starard GSD, easier to maneuver in public, fit under tables at a restaurant, and get on a plane if need be. That is just my opinion though! WELCOME, hope you find a whole plethora of knowledge here!
post #3 of 27 (permalink) Old 08-29-2011, 10:15 PM
Crowned Member

The size is the major difference between those breeds. Have you checked into Patriot Paws? A friend of mine trains dogs for them and they place dogs with vets free of charge. They're usually labs but have had other breeds such as gsd, Burmese Mtn Dog. If you don't have physical restrictions I would think that any of the breeds you mentioned would be great. Good luck and thank you for serving our country.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 27 (permalink) Old 08-29-2011, 11:35 PM

Some things to consider on owner training:

Know the Federal and your state's laws -- if you go through a reputable program they will take the time to go over these with you. Owner Trainers have this responsiblity to do themself.
~ Federal Law does not cover SDITs
~ Some states cover owner training and give limited rights, other states do not acknowledge owner training.