Animal-assisted Therapy - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 08-08-2011, 11:26 AM Thread Starter

Animal-assisted Therapy

Hello,

I was wondering if anyone out there works in animal-assisted therapy in the mental health field (rehab for prisoners, teenagers, or "therapy dog" that sits in on therapy sessions, etc).

I am a mental health therapist looking to train my puppy for this eventually and wanted to make some contacts and also find out about credentialing. My understanding is there is not any current credentialing required for these dogs in the US, but that going for the same certificates that "therapy dogs" require (i.e. dogs that visit hospitals, etc) is typically is smart move that may help with insurance.

I was also wondering what context you use your therapy dog in and if you use specific goals for the client's progress, if so, what are examples of the type of goals that you have in place?

Thanks for any help,

RH
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 08-08-2011, 02:08 PM
Crowned Member