When to start. Therapy - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 18 (permalink) Old 08-03-2011, 12:39 AM Thread Starter

When to start. Therapy

Lux is just shy of 6 months old and our puppy class begins in september for therapy and obedience... Should I start bringing her around to nursing homes now or do I need to wait till training is over with in 9 weeks?? I work at a hospital and plan on having lux come and volunteer with me at the childrens hospital and nursing homes around the community.... She's my first dog and I'm new to all this but she loves people so I figured what could be better than volunteering with my baby.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 18 (permalink) Old 08-03-2011, 02:55 AM

I believe the usual standard for a therapy dog is that they need to have passed their Canine Good Citizen test before they begin work. I think that usually involves successful completion of advanced (not basic or puppy) obedience class, then taking and passing the CGC test.

Loving people is a good start, but it is important to get the training completed and testing done. Basically, the training teaches the dog to channel their love into ways that will most benefit the patients - and will let them know what is expected of them, so the dog will be confident and can avoid accidents caused by over-enthusiasm. The patients may, for example, have delicate skin which is easily damaged by toenails or the dog bumping them from excitement. As another example, an IV can easily be disrupted or dislodged by a dog who simply is hurrying to greet a patient.