PTSD Therapy Dog Question - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 02-16-2010, 06:00 PM Thread Starter

PTSD Therapy Dog Question

Hello from Sacramento California Area.

I am a Veteran (Gulf War Era but not deployed into combat but support). I have a letter for a PTSD Dog from my VA Doctors. I have been looking at dogs for over a year now. I asked questions in my VA PTSD forums about dogs.

First I was thinking of an Australian Shepherd. But I have a Bilateral Shoulder Impingement which means my shoulders get dislocated easily. So, I looked for smaller apartment type dogs. For awhile I had high anxiety around strangers. Now my major issues remains that I trance out into a sleep paralysis--sometimes in public if I am not keeping my mind busy. I need someone to touch me to wake me or keep me awake.

So, my partner thought I needed something more like a Shibu Inu--more active but I found out that they are way too active. The only dog I ever had was a Police trained German Shepherd when I was a kid.

I got to help raise him and took him for walks. But one day my brother and his friend played a prank on us and jumped out of a tree into the side walk in front of us. So my dog was punished instead of my brother and his friend. He had to be quarantined and then my mom gave him up. But he must have went back to the police officer who gave him to us. In any case, I have avoided looking at German Shepherds because I know how protective they can be. But if I had to choose between a Shibu Inu and German Shepherd, I think the German Shepherd is an easier dog to train.

This is for a Therapy dog for me. I do not really like the slow paced yet big Labrador Retriever type dogs though I do not know why. But is a German Shepherd a good PTSD Therapy Dog?

P.S. I do mean PTSD Service Dog.

Last edited by couldIshouldI; 02-16-2010 at 06:06 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 02-16-2010, 08:22 PM
Crowned Member