Temperment of long haired shepherds - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 37 (permalink) Old 04-25-2012, 02:08 PM Thread Starter

Temperment of long haired shepherds

Is there any truth when people say that long haired shepherds have better temperaments than short haired shepherds, training aside?

Aero (WGSL) - 9 years old
Maximilian (EGWL) - 26 months old
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 37 (permalink) Old 04-25-2012, 02:11 PM
Crowned Member

I'm not an expert, but I don't think that is a fact lol. My first was longhaired, and he had to be taken out of police training because he did not want to release on command. My second and the one I have now both had/have short/plush coats. And about the same temperament (just less drive).

Kymmey
Mom To~ Dakoda (b/t GSD), Acheron (black GSD)
post #3 of 37 (permalink) Old 04-25-2012, 02:15 PM
Crowned Member

Out of 3 gsds I've owned, my long coated I have now has the best temperament, so in my experience, yes. But I've never heard that before so I'm thinking it's just the dog
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 37 (permalink) Old 04-25-2012, 02:35 PM
Elite Member

I've only had a GSD/Husky mix and a PB long coat GSD. I don't know for sure if there is a difference, but Scarlett is a much cuddlier, snugglier, attached to her peeps dog than our previous dog. Can't say if it's the coat length or not...I suspect not. She's just a different dog.

Scarlett WGSD 2/07 CGC TDI(retired)
Paige Husky/GSD mix 2/95-12/08

If you are going through hades, keep going!
post #5 of 37 (permalink) Old 04-25-2012, 06:14 PM
Elite Member

Depends on what you are looking for and consider good temperament. I have had only one long coated GSD. She was beautiful, large, and heavy boned but way too mild and low energy for me. I would be hesitant to own another. Rumor has it she is typical of long coats. I don't know.
post #6 of 37 (permalink) Old 04-25-2012, 06:34 PM
Knighted Member