Genetic diversity - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 09-28-2010, 02:56 PM Thread Starter

Send a message via AIM to LudusCanis
Genetic diversity

First off, greetings to all! This is my introductory post, so be gentle with me! I have been reading many of the topics on the site, mostly concerning Panda's colored German Shepherds.

I am a graduate student in molecular biology at the University of North Texas, and I have a fledgling Kennel. My first female has just went into heat, and I expect her to be bred any day! I have not trained any working dogs or show dogs, but I intend to get involved in that aspect with on of my pup's. His great grandfather was the 98' WUSV chamption Quasy. Does that mean he will be such a great dog? No guarauntee, but he has the potential. And I want all of my dogs to conform to breed standard and to work. After all, thats what they are bred for.

One aspect I have been studying a bit more closely is genetic bottlenecks, and specifically, the Founders effect. Those two issues aside, let me come to the point of my question.

I want to breed a diverse range of shepherds, and include in my bloodlines colors like panda (if I can purchase one), liver, blue, white, etc, NOT for the novelty of getting those colors, but for the sanctity and preservation of the gene pool. Yes, I know some of these colors are considered "Faults" by the AKC, but that does not mean they have bad DNA.

To solely focus on one particular color is just as bad as excluding those same colors from the gene pool. Now of course that means you will have pups that do not meet the "standard." You can always limit the registration of the "faulty" pups and sell them as pets. However, by injecting these into the gene pool frequently, in the long run the genetic health of the breed will be secure and not compromised as it seems to be.