Silver Sable + Black = ? - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 26 (permalink) Old 05-27-2009, 11:41 AM Thread Starter
Knighted Member

Silver Sable + Black = ?

Obviously it is a sable litter, but is there any way to find out what shade of sable the pups will be?
The dam is pure black, I don't think the father has any black in his genes, so her recessive colors did not pass to any of the pups.
The sire is a gorgeous silver sable.

I am new to genetics, but I am trying to learn.
If I am reading this right, the pups will be aw+a, which sable color is that?
http://www.ehretgsd.com/GSDcolorGenes.pdf

I can't find what aw+a is. I'm sure it is very simple, but I have NOT had my coffee today, so I'm a bit slow.
Please humor me

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Sparkles, Lilith, Eve, Candy, Dahlia, Juno, Tonks.

Jaeger, Ben, Goose, Dirk, LingLing, Bentley, Elliot, Batman.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 26 (permalink) Old 05-27-2009, 11:41 AM Thread Starter
Knighted Member

Re: Silver Sable + Black = ?

The one I'm getting is, of course, the itty bitty fluffykins in my avatar.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Sparkles, Lilith, Eve, Candy, Dahlia, Juno, Tonks.

Jaeger, Ben, Goose, Dirk, LingLing, Bentley, Elliot, Batman.
post #3 of 26 (permalink) Old 05-27-2009, 11:59 AM

i don't think that having a black parent will determine the shade of sable the pups will turn out. black is black and sable is sable. feel free to correct me if i'm wrong... but a solid black and a light sable arent going to make black sable pups unless there are specific dogs of that color somewhere in the pedigree.

(similar to the misconception of "my puppy is light b/t because the mother was a wgsd") know what i mean?