My GSD puppy, Aslan - German Shepherd Dog Forums
 3Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 12-01-2018, 01:25 PM Thread Starter
Banned

My GSD puppy, Aslan

Hello everyone,
Im new to the world of GSD ownership. I bought my GSD from a buddy I was in the military with for $350.00. The pup overall seems healthy, but he doesn't seem to be putting on any weight. I talked to a vet and they recommended changing his food to a large breed puppy food. I was orginally feeding him the food my other dog (pit bull) ate. I contacted the breeder and they sent me a photo of another dog that was born the same time as mine. My pup is significantly smaller. Its very worrisome because I don't want anything to be wrong with the pup. I have a vet appointment set up for next week. Anyone have any ideas what the issue could be?

Thanks!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20181105_181822_1543688736861.jpg
Views:	53
Size:	132.4 KB
ID:	514899  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 12-01-2018, 01:32 PM
Crowned Member

He looks very much underweight and unwell. How much are you feeding him and how often? Are you crating him when you feed him to ensure other pets aren't eating his food or intimidating him away from eating?
Atreu likes this.

If you need equipment to maintain control of your dog, understand youíre hanging on to your dogís body because youíve lost his mind!

Suzanne Clothier
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 12-01-2018, 01:33 PM
Master Member

How old is your pup? Has he been wormed? Not a great pic, but he doesn't look like a healthy pup, his face looks very thin. I think a full vet check is a good idea.
Atreu likes this.

If all you have is a hammer, everything looks like a nail.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 12-01-2018, 01:47 PM