hiking in the rain? - German Shepherd Dog Forums
 9Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 21 (permalink) Old 10-18-2019, 02:35 AM Thread Starter

Question hiking in the rain?

Hi there, my dog and I have been hiking for a few months now but as the weather gets more inclement, I wonder if I can take him for 8 miles in the rain. I have a rain coat for him, but over 5-6 hours I am not sure if it will be of much use. He is a little over 2 years old and has done that distance several times in the past.

Thoughts and advice would be awesome. Including a pic of Munch for attention
Attached Images

J-Munch Vom HausReid
In silence we learn and love
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 21 (permalink) Old 10-18-2019, 02:57 AM
Crowned Member

I grew up in the PNW. Our dogs, farm dogs, all lived outside mostly, and could and did easily go all day in the rain without a problem! Chihuahuas might need raincoats, GSDs not so much. Go, enjoy, your dog will be fine!

It's not the size of the dog in the fight, it's the size of the fight in the dog. Mark Twain

Tim
post #3 of 21 (permalink) Old 10-18-2019, 09:56 AM
Crowned Member

They will be happy hiking in all weather conditions. Yeah - a chihuahua not so much lol!

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 21 (permalink) Old 10-18-2019, 10:36 AM

I take my dogs out in the rain often. The only time I might be concerned is if it is around 40 degrees, and windy, and you stop for a while in a windy spot- or if you are camping and have no way to keep him dry and he's wet with temps dropping below freezing.

Otherwise, he'll be fine- GSDs are meant to be out in the elements, getting the job done.
post #5 of 21 (permalink) Old 10-18-2019, 11:04 AM
Crowned Member