Harness for vehicle use - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-22-2019, 11:38 AM Thread Starter

Harness for vehicle use

What is a good harness that clicks into the seat belt (back seat) for safety if you aren't able to crate in your car?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-22-2019, 11:45 AM
LRP

I just use a normal padded harness that you would use to walk them. Something strong but comfortable and I bought a short leash with seat belt click off Amazon.
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

It works great for both my GSD's
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-23-2019, 12:31 AM

I've been using this one in my tiny subcompact for about 9 months: Clickit Sport - Sleepypod® | The safest pet company | Dog Carrier | Cat Carrier | Dog Harness. It restricts movement ALOT but I think it's pretty widely regarded as one of the safer ones. It is pretty expensive, ~$80. It honestly had a very steep learning curve for my dog and I. He liked to move around in the back seat a lot. With this harness on he can lie down in the seat and sit up and look out the window (tiny car though). He can't turn around or he gets tangled.

The tangling was a big issue. It took a while for him to learn he could only sit up and down in one position. I had to pull over on the road and untangle him many times. He whined about having to be in the harness a lot. We've gotten to a point now where he's comfortable in it and can fall asleep now.

Also, depending on the size of your dog and the length of your car's seatbelt it's possible the seatbelt might not be long enough to loop through the harness. I think my dog is somewhere near the limit of having a long enough seatbelt to loop through the harness effectively. I bought one of these https://www.seatbeltextenderpros.com/ for ~$30 but I haven't been using it lately.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-23-2019, 01:25 AM
Master Member