Kids and puppies - German Shepherd Dog Forums
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By cloudpump

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 09-18-2017, 05:22 PM Thread Starter

Kids and puppies

I have been researching breeders and German Shepards for nearly 2 years now. We are nearly ready to put a deposit down after i take a trip up to see the breeder. Im both excited and nervous. We are hoping to bring a puppy home around December. I have a two questions.

We have 4 children. I feel like i have gone over everything pertaining to dog safety, treatment, and ettiquite with them. Iv gone over our house, the childrens rooms and toys to identify choking hazards. Ultimately keeping our dog safe will come down to proper supervision but are there any other tips or difficulties we will need to watch for pertaining to the children and the new puppy? Im just looking for anything big or small that could have slipped my mind even if its just simple things you noticed while raising a puppy and kids.

Secondly if my husband is gone the first few weeks will that affect anything major as far as bonding? He is in the Army and may be away for 3 weeks, return for 3, then gone again in the first 3 months. I guess im hoping that when he gets back he will be able to bond with the puppy even if it is already attached to the rest of us.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 09-18-2017, 06:23 PM
Crowned Member

Your main concern is 'keeping the kids safe' from puppy. To me it doesn't sound like an ideal start unless (maybe) all your kids are in school during the day and you can devote time to work with a landshark and raising this pup is your nr. 1 passion.
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 09-18-2017, 06:48 PM

When we got our pup, I had a husband in the military and two children, the youngest was 4. That being said we had a Shepherd before they were born so they were used to a big furry dog.