German Shepherds Forum banner

Feeling cheated and mislead

5K views 37 replies 24 participants last post by  CelticGlory 
#1 ·
Ok i know this isnt a qaulity breeder and sure aint paying the price to match and assumed risk in regards to health issues which may or may not happen. However i placed a deposit on this girl. Shes a sable. Tonite they sent me a updated picture and need opinions on if its the same puppy. Im 100% sure its not but im new to shepherd puppies and there color changes but i dont think a sable will turn into a black and tan and the breeder said she darkened and it is the same pup. Whats your thoughts?

Attachments

See less See more
#3 ·
Your right i dont trust the breeder when they suddenly dont look like the same puppy. I have a non refundable deposit on her so all i can do is just ride it out and get whatever she gives me at this point. Its not a matter of color although sable would have been great but its the fact of what seems like she swapped puppies and is lying

#4 ·
You are falling into the "sunk costs fallacy" in human reasoning. You've sunk some money (deposit) that you can't get back, so it becomes hard emotionally to walk away. Logically though, sunk costs don't really justify sinking MORE money into what you are learning may have been a bad bet.

Do some reading on this trick of the mind -- it will feel familiar (it affects nearly all of us in some way):
https://litemind.com/sunk-cost-bias/

#5 ·
*have a non refundable deposit on her so all i can do is just ride it out and get whatever she gives me at this point.*
You do not have to take "whatever she gives you". There is always the option of walking away. If you have this much mistrust with the breeder I absolutely would walk away and just consider the lost deposit a life lesson.

Getting a pup from a good breeder saves a lot of heartache.

#6 ·