Do you think a GSD is right for me? - German Shepherd Dog Forums
Closed Thread

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 187 (permalink) Old 10-17-2015, 07:55 PM Thread Starter

Do you think a GSD is right for me?

Hello all! First post here! So, I have a Shiba Inu named Buddha. He'll be 1 on November 30th. I love him to bits and am looking at getting another pup for the family. I also have officially fallen for all Spitz/Nordic breeds. I'm stuck between the GSD, White Swiss Shepherd, and the Blue Bay Shepherd.

About me: I just turned twenty. I've worked with dogs my whole life and can handle the more difficult breeds- I'm drawn to them really. I work at a retail store a few minutes away, and I'm studying to be a real estate agent, eventually wanting to work from home. I live in a suburban town, my neighborhood is quite rural. Woods. I have a really big, fenced in yard and a pool. And my house is a good size. I plan on obedience training from the get go, daily training is vital to me. I brush Buddha once a week, up to four times when shedding. Anything else you want to know, just ask!

What I'm looking for: A dog that is obedient, responsive, biddable/cooperative, stable, and takes to training well. For example, my Shiba Inu (Buddha) will be on the table- I'll tell him to get off. 10 seconds later he'll be back up. I want a dog that will listen to what I'm telling him to do. Loyal, protective, "one man/velcro", will go for walks/hikes but not be as rambunctious as my Shiba. I want a dog that actually wants to be with me and will be demonstrative. Affectionate, mature and easy going. Calm in the house but will play with Buddha outside. Polite and well mannered with strangers and children. I want a dog that will listen to commands but is sure of himself and can care for himself when need be.

Do I sound like a good match for any of these? Sorry this is so long, I'm just taking this seriously and I'm really excited about what you all will have to say. Thank you!!