Best (NON-Dyson) Vacuum? - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 37 (permalink) Old 01-31-2011, 10:07 AM Thread Starter

Best (NON-Dyson) Vacuum?

Hello!

So I need a new vacuum! I have a tiny house, but my grandmother's hand-me-down vac just isn't cutting it anymore. I spent an hour yesterday cleaning out all the bristles, and the bag is no where near full, and it still leaves tons of hair on the carpet.

I have two girls with long hair, my GSD and two cats, so there is a TON of hair. For about 2 weeks I was vacuuming everyday to see if it would help, and it doesn't. Realistically I will vacuum every 2/3 days.

I would love to splurge and get the Dyson Animal Ball, but it is no where near my budget, I am a poor grad student.

I am looking to spend about $150, and was leaning towards the Bissel Pet Hair Eraser, any thoughts?

[FONT="Trebuchet MS"]-Heather

Whitman ARCH, RL1X, RL1 (AOE), RL2 (AOE), CL1, CL2, CL3 3/01/2010 GSDx
George 3/01/2008 Orange Tabby DSH cat
Sofia 3/01/2008 Black DSH cat
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 37 (permalink) Old 01-31-2011, 10:17 AM
Crowned Member

You can get Dyson Animal vacuums for cheap on woot.com sometimes. I got mine there a few years ago for half off.

If you want something really powerful without having to clean pieces or brushes, I would get a small shop vac, seriously.

I use a lot of Bissell products from an acquaintance who works their but IMO the vacuums are not as powerful as others (Dyson has that niche).
post #3 of 37 (permalink) Old 01-31-2011, 10:21 AM

Do you have carpeting?
If not, I swear by the Hoover Constellation. Canister that glides around like the puck on an air hockey game. It just isn't that great for carpeting, just area rugs and bare floors.
I love this thing!
Just do not buy from vaccums.net they are con artists.

Chance, GSD mix. Had a Corgi head transplant when younger. 2-3 yrs old. Adopted from shelter 01-25-2011

In our memories and hearts always