Runners with German Shepherds? - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 01-26-2011, 08:52 PM Thread Starter

Runners with German Shepherds?

Hi everybody I just joined this forum yesterday, and I have to say this is a GREAT forum!

Anyways, I'm currently a college student and I would consider myself pretty active; I run track here. I am looking to get a German Shepherd hopefully over the summer where I will be able to spend long hours with him/her without being out at classes and practice.

One benefit of being on the track team is that one of the runners that graduated last year had a weimaraner that would hang out with us during practice. He would run with us when he wanted, and when he grew tired, he would sleep in the shade. And nobody had to worry because the practice field was surrounded by a 10 foot high chain link fence to keep out drunk undergrads. I'm hoping i can bring my future dog to do the same

I was wondering if any of you run with your German Shepherds, in particular people from Southern California. How much do you run with him/her? I go to school in the inland empire, where it is crazy hot. Do you think it would be okay for my future gsd to be running in temps above 80 degrees?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 01-26-2011, 08:56 PM
Crowned Member

I think as long as the dog wasn't on a leash being made to run, he'd be fine. If he was able to run a while, and then go get a drink of water and lay down when he felt hot or tired there probably wouldn't be a problem.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
- 6 years

At the Bridge:
Cash Adopted 2007 - 7/28/2010
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Rocky 4/19/2002 - 1/16/2015 to DM
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 01-26-2011, 08:57 PM
Crowned Member

Send a message via Yahoo to DCluver33
Quote: