Breeding coats - genealogy - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 01-21-2011, 11:41 AM Thread Starter

Breeding coats - genealogy

Hey all!

So I'm working with a breeder currently to find me a pup in Fall (Ryanhaus). I ran the question by her via email without response yet but I asked pretty vaguely what the potential colors/patterns would be. I wanted to start up a discussion about this a bit on this forum.

To start, I am no expert at this kinda stuff by far, by I know a bit about genes (recessive/dominant etc).

If you go to her site under upcoming litters (link: Upcoming litters - Ryanhaus Kennel ), and look at the Theo/Caroline breeding, you will see that Theo is a bit of a sable with markings that kind of resemble a saddle back. It is difficult to put your finger on it. Caroline is a blanket back.

Looking at their parents I found out the following (link: Mating test - German shepherd dog) :

Caroline's father is a bicolor and mother is a blanket/saddleback. I didn't look further than that. So Caroline might be carrying a blanket back gene and some other recessive gene (bicolor maybe).

Theos father is somewhat of a sable/blanket back and his mother is a blanket back. The only sable (dominant) that I could find that Theo may have inherited was from his grandfather (dad's side).

That is as much as I gathered with my minimal knowledge of this stuff. What I know is from least to most dominant the colors go: Solid black, bi color, blanket back, saddle back, sable.