Working Line vs Show Line Puppy - German Shepherd Dog Forums
 21Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 20 (permalink) Old 03-26-2019, 12:52 AM Thread Starter

Working Line vs Show Line Puppy

Excuse my ignorance here. I'm new to the breed and looking to get my first GSD soon. Would a working line puppy be suitable as a companion dog? I'm not looking to do trials or protection work. I want a puppy that is family and kid friendly. However, I also want a dog that could be protective of his home if necessary but not necessarily an attack/guard/personal protection dog. A dog that I can feel comfortable bringing around strangers (dog park, walks in the city, pet stores, etc). Can tell between a threat and non-threat.

Would a working line have more natural aggression and wouldnt fit the mold I'm looking for vs a show line?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 20 (permalink) Old 03-26-2019, 01:00 AM

I think working line would be a good choice. My dog has relatives on both end, but most recently WGWL great grandparents that were imported for breeding, and he's extremely protective of his home, but completely docile at dog parks. Literally just lays down beside me at the park. But at home, he barks at family friends if he hasn't seen them recently and goes wild if someone is on my parents property or near it. The only thing he deems a threat outside of his property is anything bigger than him, or wild animals. He mauled a small coyote a few months ago, and isn't all that fond of dogs who are close to his size(which is very rare), but in general he's very nonchalant in public.

Jax - 2 year old WGWL GSD, 125lbs
Leeroy - 3 year old Rottweiler Pit Bull Mix, 120lbs

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
post #3 of 20 (permalink) Old 03-26-2019, 05:41 AM
Crowned Member