Stupid question about feeding - German Shepherd Dog Forums
 2Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 23 (permalink) Old 08-08-2019, 02:54 PM Thread Starter
Elite Member

Stupid question about feeding

I’ve been doing some research on puppy food vs all age foods, as well as adult food for large breeds. Most of the dogs I’ve had have been adult behavioral rescues, so I’m new to this whole puppy thing. Trying to research on my own is making my head spin. Every article I read contradicts the article before it.

We are currently feeding Fromm puppy (not grain free) for Seiran and Floki, and Crios and Lyka get Fromm adult (not grain free). Lyka is fat, she’s slowed down big time on exercise at her age, she was recently spayed, and was switched to a diet kibble from the vets office. She’s still fat. So we went back to the Fromm for her, and reduced the amount. She gets 2 1/2 cups per day. Crios gets 5 cups per day, and that’s just to maintain. He is two years old, and in some of my research, I found that keeping him on puppy food until he is three would be better for him because he isn’t fully developed, and has super high energy levels, and is always going going going. Then naps, wakes up, and is go go go again.

But then during my research, it was recommend to mix adult with the puppy kibble to avoid too fast of a growth rate, which can cause joint and hip issues.

So I’m just lost now. Should I do a mix or adult/puppy for both Crios and Seiran, keep Seiran strictly on puppy food, and keep Crios strictly on adult food? Crios is SKINNY at 5 cups of Fromm a day. Would mixing the puppy food in be helpful? Or should I switch to a completely different brand made for high energy dogs?

All advice welcome. I’m swimming in articles that just lead to more questions and more confusion. Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 23 (permalink) Old 08-08-2019, 03:18 PM
Crowned Member